How to Become a Neo-Cartesian Cyborg

I found this presentation a great philosophical perspective on the “Second Brain” movement:

What does it mean to build a “second brain,” and why do we think that’s a Good and Valuable thing to do?

I have lots of thoughts about this, but want to leave room for others to comment first without framing the conversation in a particular way.

What I want to highlight though, is the cognitive linguistics angle — this is pretty much what I’m focused on lately. My background is in computer science and I’m new to linguistics and cognitive science, but I’m deep enough into Lakoff, Johnson, and others that I feel there’s a lot of potential here to influence the way we build and design technology and software to help us think in particular.

If that sounds interesting to you and if the presentation above resonates, let’s talk!

2 Likes

Building a one more brain seems like a weird thing to do - when we already have a few billion of them - if you’ll have them same narrow letter-stream communication channel with it.

A better analogy for me is building an additional cortex for your own brain, which translates the incoming signals and outgoing actions in a more sophisticated manner.

• You can’t observe the world economy, but the data analysis and visualization algorithms can put it into a form your eyes can absorb
  • You can’t feel the suffering of many people far away from you, but a well-crafted work of art may translate those emotions into something your senses can relate to
  • You can’t move in a way a vary agile game character (or, some day, a robotic body) moves, but enough experience the movements of your fingers on the controller will fade away from you attention and you will feel like its you’re the one who’s movements you seen on the screen. And when the virtual earth shakes, the controller’s feedback may well convince your brain that it’s your world that’s shaking

cognitive linguistics angle